Popular Posts

British Council Malaysia

School Holiday Programme December 2018


School Holiday Programme December 2018

Tuesday, May 17, 2016

Recommended Holiday Reading For Kids

Kids these days are so busy with school work, it seems that the only free time they have for reading story books are during the school holidays. Whether that may be the case for your child or not, school holidays is definitely a good time to get them reading. Here are a few good reads for the approaching June school holidays.

Books Kinokuniya Malaysia webstore recommends the following holiday reading for kids this holidays.

  1. The St. Clare's Series by Enid Blyton and Pamela Cox
  2. The Secret Stories Series by Enid Blyton

St. Clare's Series

The St. Clare's Series is a series of nine books by Enid Blyton and Pamela Cox. This series is excellent for kids who like to read about school life. It revolves around a boarding school called St. Clare's and follows the life of the O'Sullivan twins, Claudine, Kitty and others from start to finish at the school.

This series as with many other Enid Blyton story books has an old world charm and lots of hidden moral values in the story including how to do the right thing, how to treat others, how to make friends and get along with others and building self worth.

Titles in this series include:

  1. The Twins at St. Clare's
  2. The O'Sullivan Twins
  3. Summer Term at St. Clare's
  4. The Second Form at St. Clare's
  5. The Third Form at St Clare's
  6. Kitty at St. Clare's
  7. Claudine at St. Clare's
  8. Fifty Formers of St. Clare's
  9. The Sixth Form at St. Clare's

One of the advantages of reading a series is, it just might become the catalyst to turn a non-reader into one as the child follows the exciting story line from one book to another.

The Secret Stories Series

The secret stories series is another notable Enid Blyton series. This is an adventure story on a secret island. It tells the story of siblings Peggy, Mike and Nora who ran away from their cruel guardians to a secret island together with their friend Jack. 

Unlike the Famous Five series which often have adventures involving criminals, The Secret Stories is a poignant story about survival and community. Expect lots of fun and adventure in the series which includes the following titles.

  1. The Secret Island
  2. The Secret of Spiggy Holes
  3. The Secret Mountain
  4. The Secret of Killimooin (Retitled as The Secret Forest)
  5. The Secret of Moon Castle

The Secret Series was adapted into a TV series in 1997. The TV story line is a little bit different from the book.

Get these adventure stories series by Enid Blyton at Malaysia's Online Book Store, Books Kinokuniya Malaysia Webstore. 



Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...